EVERYTHING’S NEW!

Moving to Boston really didn’t take that long. Perhaps two days of packing and one day of flying. Preparing to move, stressing out about moving, and stressing out after moving were far more time consuming.

So here I am. In Boston. Haven’t felt like blogging because of the stress, but I moved about a month and a half ago, so I really need to get over it.

So here I am. I’ve been pretty homesick, especially since I have no furry animals to pet thus far. However, I have found something new that is most splendid: my new library! In a city where everything is expensive, it’s comforting to know that libraries will always be a mecca of free awesomeness.

The Central Library is GIANT. I think I may have been wandering around with my mouth open the first time I went there. I don’t think I would have even noticed had I started drooling. Because of its immense size, the library is a tad overwhelming, but it more than makes up for this with the number of books it contains. Especially old books. I found a manuscript called “Letters from Afar” by Mrs. Worcester Reed Warner. It was written in the early 20th century and was apparently the saga of some epic trip she took, which was never intended for the general public to read. I wish I knew how it ended up in the library.

I would be very surprised if someone has ever placed a hold on it. But I am weird, so I checked it out. I love huge libraries for that reason. They have large collections of old books, and sometimes you can read about tiny portions of history that no one else has for years. Plus, I must admit that I adore the smell of old books.

To my fellow bibliophiles, what is your favorite thing about a massive library and/or old books?

I know that this didn’t really end up being about frugality, but please bear with me, because EVERYTHING’S NEW! Plus, libraries are free, so I didn’t go on too much of a tangent.

2 responses to this post.

  1. My favorite thing about old books: scanning them and using them for textures in my design projects! And… er. Reading them, I guess…

    Reply

  2. That makes sense. You must find some awesome textures, since old books are often works of art 🙂 I bet you like the fonts too! Or maybe they drive you crazy?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

